added about xats, days and powers
as long as you have xats days powers your account cannot be deleted of any kind, but your account can still become inactive after certain amount of time.
most of it will be automatic and again will not affect shortnames or accounts with xats days or powers as long as they have something in their account.
maybe relogin and verify via email to reactivate your account?
is that better than making tickets
I don't really like this. Why delaying a department full of tickets due to this? This can really affect other users.
What would happen to your powers and all the stuff you had in your account? They would all just be gone and as you said, unrecoverable.
An alternative would be just releasing the desired username after a long period of time by opening a ticket (this may be a paid user feature; it feels more fair this way). Why deleting the whole account for this purpose?